All PRINCE2 courses are now available as either virtual classroom training or as self-paced online courses.

What is PRINCE2 Qualification?

By Simon Buehring on 06 Aug 2020

PRINCE2® grows in Germany

PRINCE2 stands for ‘PRojects IN Controlled Environments v. 2’, and refers to the de-facto standard project management methodology used in UK-government projects, as well as in private sector organizations in the UK and abroad. The PRINCE2 framework is structured around seven core principles and themes, as well as project management processes and techniques. But if PRINCE2 is a project management methodology, then what are the PRINCE2 qualifications?

The PRINCE2 Certificates

There are three PRINCE2 certificates: PRINCE2 Foundation, PRINCE2 Practitioner, and PRINCE2 Professional. These correspond to three levels of project management understanding and expertise:

PRINCE2 Foundation:

  • knowledge of the PRINCE2 project management methodology
  • anyone who wants on a project team
  • 3-day training course
  • closed-book, multiple-choice examination

PRINCE2 Practitioner:

  • understanding of how the PRINCE2 project management framework is applied to actual projects
  • anyone who wants to work as a project manager
  • PRINCE2 Foundation certificate is required as a pre-requisite
  • 2-day training course
  • open-book, multiple-choice examination based on an imaginary project scenario

PRINCE2 Professional

  • ability to apply the PRINCE2 project management principles, processes, and techniques to project situations
  • experienced project managers
  • PRINCE2 Practitioner certificate is required as a pre-requisite
  • 2.5 day assessment event
  • group/solo tasks, interviews, and essays

This site uses cookies to enhance your user experience. Please read our cookie policy for more information

I understand